Pipeline

Tesamorelin F8

The prevalence of liver disease has increased significantly in recent years. Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) are the leading cause of liver disease.¹ It is estimated that 3 to 12 percent of adult Americans have NASH.

Theratechnologies intends to submit its Phase 3 study protocol to the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the European regulatory agencies in the fourth quarter of 2020. Subject to approval from the regulatory agencies, the enrollment of patients is planned for the first quarter of 2021. Patients will be treated for a period of 18 months. As per published regulatory guidelines, the primary endpoints will assess NAS score normalisation and absence of worsening of fibrosis stage, or fibrosis improvement ≥ 1 stage and no worsening of NAS.

Theratechnologies intends to use a new investigational formulation of tesamorelin, known as “F8”, for the Phase 3 trial in NASH. In addition, a supplemental Biologics License Application (sBLA) is expected to be filed with the FDA in early 2022 in HIV-associated lipodystrophy using a convenient, multi-dose pen injector currently being developed for this new formulation.

The effect of tesamorelin has recently been evaluated in patients with HIV and NAFLD following one-year treatment. This study demonstrated that the daily use of tesamorelin causes a significant decrease in hepatic fat (37%) compared to the control group. In addition, 35% of patients treated with tesamorelin demonstrated hepatic fat normalization, compared to only 4% in the control group. This study also suggests potential benefits on the prevention of fibrosis.

After 10 years of real-life experience, the safety profile of tesamorelin in HIV patients with lipodystrophy is well established. Based on current scientific evidence showing a reduction in liver fat and delayed progression of liver fibrosis in patients with HIV infection and NAFLD or NASH, combined with robust intellectual property, a new investigational formulation and the development of a multi-dose pen injector, tesamorelin is believed to be a potential strong candidate for the treatment of NASH in the general population.

¹ LaBrecque et al., Nonsalcoholic fatty liver disease and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis, World Gastroenterology Organization Global Guidelines, June 2012

Pipeline

Tésamoraline F8

La prévalence des maladies hépatiques a augmenté considérablement dans les dernières années. La stéatose hépatique non alcoolique (NAFLD) et la stéatohépatite non-alcoolique (NASH) sont la cause majeure de maladies hépatiques.¹ On estime que 3 à 12 pour cent des adultes américains sont atteints du NASH.

Theratechnologies entend déposer son protocole d’étude de phase 3 à la Food and Drug Administration (FDA) des États-Unis et aux agences réglementaires européennes au cours du quatrième trimestre de 2020. Assujetti à l’approbation des agences réglementaires, le recrutement des patients est prévu pour le premier trimestre de l’année 2021. Les patients seront traités pour une période de 18 mois. Selon les directives réglementaires publiées, les critères d’évaluation principaux évalueront la normalisation du score de NAS et l’absence d’une aggravation du stade de la fibrose, ou l’amélioration de la fibrose d’au moins 1 niveau et l’absence d’une aggravation du NAS.

Theratechnologies entend utiliser la nouvelle formulation expérimentale de la tésamoréline, connu sous le nom « F8 », pour l’essai de phase 3 du NASH. De plus, le dépôt d’une demande supplémentaire de licence de produit biologique (sBLA) auprès de la FDA est prévu tôt en 2022 pour la lipodystrophie associée au VIH avec l’utilisation d’un stylo injecteur multidose pratique présentement en développement pour cette nouvelle formulation.

L’effet de la tésamoréline a été récemment évalué chez des patients atteints du VIH et du NAFLD après un an de traitement. Cette étude a démontré que l’utilisation de la tésamoréline quotidiennement cause une diminution significative du gras hépatique (37%) comparativement au groupe contrôle. De plus, 35% des patients traités avec la tésamoréline ont démontré une normalisation du gras hépatique, contrairement à seulement 4% dans le groupe contrôle. Cette étude suggère aussi des bénéfices potentiels sur la prévention de la fibrose.

Après 10 ans d’expérience concrète, le profil d’innocuité de la tésamoréline chez des patients vivant avec le VIH et atteints de la lipodystrophie est bien établi. Sur la base des données scientifiques actuelles démontrant une réduction du gras hépatique et une progression retardée de la fibrose hépatique chez des patients vivant avec le VIH et touchés par le NAFLD ou le NASH, combinées à une robuste propriété intellectuelle, une nouvelle formulation expérimentale et le développement d’un stylo injecteur multidose, nous pensons avoir un candidat potentiel de première classe pour le traitement du NASH chez la population générale.

¹ LaBrecque et al., Stéatose hépatique non alcoolique et stéato-hépatite non alcoolique, World Gastroenterology Organisation Global Guidelines, Juin 2012