Pipeline

Tesamorelin F8 (NASH HIV)

The prevalence of liver disease has increased significantly in recent years. Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) are the leading cause of liver disease.¹ These diseases are common in HIV patients and the prevalence is 35% to 40%² The progression of the pathology is characterized by the development of fibrosis that is present in about 20% of people living with HIV and NASH. Several factors are associated with NASH including lipodystrophy.³

The treatment of this pathology is essential since patients with HIV seem to be more at risk than the general population. The effect of tesamorelin has recently been evaluated in patients with HIV and NAFLD following one-year treatment. This study demonstrated that the use of 2.0 mg daily causes a significant decrease in hepatic fat (37%) compared to the control group. In addition, 35% of patients treated with tesamorelin demonstrated hepatic fat normalization, compared to only 4% in the control group. This study also suggests potential benefits on the prevention of fibrosis.

Considering this evidence, Theratechnologies has announced its willingness to continue a randomized clinical trial for the evaluation of tesamorelin in patients with HIV and NASH. This study will begin in the coming months and results are expected approximately 24 months later.

Tesamorelin is the only potential treatment for NASH in people living with HIV to be at such an advanced stage of development.

¹ LaBrecque et al., Nonsalcoholic fatty liver disease and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis, World Gastroenterology Organization Global Guidelines, June 2012

² Maurice et al., AIDS 2017; 31: 1621-1632

³ Chalasani et al., 2007, 55 (6); 2005-23

Pipeline

Tésamoraline F8 (NASH VIH)

La prévalence des maladies hépatiques a augmenté considérablement dans les dernières années. La stéatose hépatique non alcoolique (NAFLD) et la stéato-hépatite non-alcoolique (NASH) sont la cause majeure de maladies hépatiques.¹ Ces maladies sont fréquentes chez les patients atteints du VIH et la prévalence est de 35% à 40%.² La progression de la pathologie est caractérisée par le développement de la fibrose qui est présente chez environ 20% des personnes vivant avec le VIH et du NASH. Plusieurs facteurs sont associés au NASH dont la lipodystrophie.³

Le traitement de cette pathologie est primordial puisque les patients atteints du VIH semblent plus à risque que la population générale. L’effet de la tésamoraline a été récemment évalué chez les patients atteints du VIH et de NAFLD à la suite d’un traitement d’un an. Cette étude a démontré que l’utilisation de 2,0 mg quotidiennement cause une diminution significative du gras hépatique (37%) comparativement au groupe contrôle. De plus, 35% des patients traités avec la tésamoraline ont démontré une normalisation du gras hépatique, contrairement à seulement 4% dans le groupe contrôle. Cette étude suggère aussi des bénéfices potentiels sur la prévention de la fibrose.

Considérant ces données probantes, Theratechnologies a annoncé sa volonté de poursuivre une étude clinique randomisée pour l’évaluation de la tésamoréline chez les patients atteints du VIH et du NASH. Cette étude commencera au cours des prochains mois et les résultats sont attendus environ 24 mois plus tard.

La tésamoréline est le seul traitement potentiel du NASH chez les personnes vivant avec le VIH à être à un stade de développement aussi avancé.

¹ LaBrecque et al., Stéatose hépatique non alcoolique et stéato-hépatite non alcoolique, World Gastroenterology Organisation Global Guidelines, Juin 2012

² Maurice et al., AIDS 2017; 31: 1621-1632

³ Chalasani et al., 2007, 55(6); 2005-23